Best answer: Who is the current president of Cyprus?

Who is the PM of Cyprus?

Nicos Anastasiades

His Excellency Nicos Anastasiades Νίκος Αναστασιάδης
Born 27 September 1946 Pera Pedi, British Cyprus (now Republic of Cyprus)
Political party Centre Union (before 1977) Democratic Rally (1976–present)
Spouse(s) Andri Moustakoudi ​ ( m. 1971)​
Children 2

How many times can a president be elected in Cyprus?

Presidential elections are held every five years, with by elections held in case of a vacancy in the office to elect a president within a period of 45 days after the vacancy occurs until the next Presidential elections. In 2019 the constitution was amended to add a two consecutive terms limit.

What religion is Cyprus?

Christians make up 78% of the total Cypriot population. Christianity includes the Greek Orthodox Church of Cyprus, the Armenian Church in Cyprus, Maronite, Roman Catholicism, and Protestants. Most Greek Cypriots are members of the Autocephalous Greek Orthodox Church of Cyprus (Church of Cyprus).

How safe is Cyprus?

OVERALL RISK : LOW. Cyprus is generally very safe to travel to, even though it is geographically close to countries hit by terrorism and wars. Petty crime does occur, especially during the holidays and summer.

Is Cyprus part of the EU?

Cyprus is a member country of the EU since May 1, 2004 with its geographic size of 9,251 km², and population number 847,008, as per 2015. Cypriots comprise 0.2% of the total EU population. Its capital is Nicosia and the official language in Cyprus is Greek.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Does Cyprus have good schools?

Does Cyprus have a leader?

The president of Cyprus is the head of state and the head of government of the Republic of Cyprus. The office was created in 1960, after Cyprus gained its independence from the United Kingdom. Currently, the president of Cyprus is Nicos Anastasiades, since 28 February 2013.

How do elections work in Cyprus?

The elections are held using open list proportional representation; voters vote for a party and can then cast one preferential vote for a candidate on their party’s list for every four seats available in their constituency (party leaders or other candidates heading coalitions are not required to receive preferential …

Sunny Cyprus