Who was the first president of Cyprus?

His Beatitude Makarios III
Archbishop President Makarios in New York City, United States, in 1962
1st President of Cyprus
In office 16 August 1960 – 15 July 1974
Vice President Fazıl Küçük (1959–1973) Rauf Denktaş (1973–1974)

How many presidents did Cyprus have?


No. Name (Born-Died) Term
Left office
5 Tassos Papadopoulos (1934–2008) supported by AKEL 28 February 2008
6 Demetris Christofias (1946–2019) 28 February 2013
7 Nicos Anastasiades (born 1946) Incumbent

Where was Makarios born?

Who was the first vice president of the Republic of Cyprus?

Vice President of Cyprus

Name (Birth–Death)
1 Fazıl Küçük (1906–1984)
2 Rauf Denktaş (1924–2012)
Vacant (15 July 1974–Present)

Why is Cyprus divided two?

Division of Cyprus

Cyprus has been divided, de facto, into the Greek Cypriot controlled southern two-thirds of the island and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus a third. … Its territory, a result of the Turkish invasion of 1974 and whose status remains disputed, extends over the northern third of the island.

What country owns Cyprus?

The Republic of Cyprus has de jure sovereignty over the entire island, including its territorial waters and exclusive economic zone, with the exception of the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, which remain under the UK’s control according to the London and Zürich Agreements.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Who runs Northern Cyprus?

What religion is Cyprus?

Christians make up 78% of the total Cypriot population. Christianity includes the Greek Orthodox Church of Cyprus, the Armenian Church in Cyprus, Maronite, Roman Catholicism, and Protestants. Most Greek Cypriots are members of the Autocephalous Greek Orthodox Church of Cyprus (Church of Cyprus).

Who is the head of Cyprus?

Where is Makarios buried?

Why did the Turkish invade Cyprus?

The aim of the coup was the union (enosis) of Cyprus with Greece, and the Hellenic Republic of Cyprus to be declared. In July 1974, Turkish forces invaded and captured 3% of the island before a ceasefire was declared. The Greek military junta collapsed and was replaced by a democratic government.

Sunny Cyprus